YOUR TOWN:  Caroline | Culpeper | Dahlgren | King George | Fredericksburg | Orange | Spotsylvania | Stafford | Westmoreland   TODAY: 11.21.14 | 

Communities >> Fredericksburg

Pages: 1
flyguy
FUG Freshman

Reged: 08/27/07
Loc: Fox Point
Opening a business in Old Town...?
      #1160289 - 08/27/07 11:31 PM (71.171.101.246)

I've been a Fredericksburg/Spotsylvania resident for 17 years. I used to go downtown from time to time to eat at some of my favorite restaurants (Jetts and Spanky's), which have been history for some time now. Now I almost never go and I think it's a terrible shame that there is nothing there to compel me to make the rather short trip there. I drove cross country from Los Angeles to F-burg last year and was dismayed to find the country nearly wall-to-wall with Targets, Wal-Marts, Best Buys, Ruby Tuesdays, et al. The only thing to tell me where I was was the topography. Call me old fashioned, but I think that's a shame. I really miss having my favorite local places to eat. I can't help but think that Old Town Fredericksburg has the potential to be a great colonial downtown. Having said that, I have an idea and I'm willing to put my money where my mouth is and open a business in Old Town. It's a restaurant with an outdoor component to it. Ideally, it should be located in a scenic area, close to the river and away from residences. An existing building with a kitchen (or means of adding a kitchen) would be most helpful. With the current plans for redevelopment downtown, can anyone suggest a good location? Does anyone know who in city government I would contact to explore these options? The business would employ about 15-25 people and would provide a healthy revenue stream for the city. Any help or ideas would be appreciated. I'm new to the forum, so please be gentle

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
hippydotmom
Mega FUG

Reged: 12/18/03
Loc: Group W Bench
Re: Opening a business in Old Town...? [Re: flyguy]